BTL_CDGA_Logo_Black_Article Page

Winners Announced at the 18th Costume Designers Guild Awards with Presenting Sponsor LACOSTE

February 23, 2016

The winners of the 18th Costume Designers Guild Awards (CDGA) were announced tonight at the annual Gala, hosted by actress Betsy Brandt (“Life in Pieces,” “Breaking Bad,” “Masters of Sex”). The Guild handed out competitive awards for Costume Design Excellence in seven categories for film, television, and short-form design. LACOSTE has been a supporter of the CDGA for more than a decade and returned as Presenting Sponsor for the sixth consecutive year.

The Guild honored two-time Academy Award® winning actress Cate Blanchett with the LACOSTE Spotlight Award, which was presented to her by three-time Academy Award® winning Costume Designer Sandy Powell. A double Academy Award® and CDGA nominee this year, Powell worked with Blanchett on three films: “The Aviator,” “Cinderella,” and “Carol.”

The Distinguished Collaborator Award was presented to award-winning film director, screenwriter, producer, and actor Quentin Tarantino in recognition of his creative partnerships with Costume Designers. The award was presented to Tarantino by “The Hateful Eight” co-stars, Kurt Russell and Academy Award® nominee Jennifer Jason Leigh.

Andy Garcia, André Holland, and Lili Mirojnick presented acclaimed Costume Designer Ellen Mirojnick with this year’s Career Achievement Award for her outstanding work in film and television. Mirojnick has worked on 61 films and numerous TV projects during her 40-year career in Costume Design. Her Costume Design credits include, “Wall Street,” “Basic Instinct,” “Behind the Candelabra,” and “The Knick.” Mirojnick is currently working with Director Angelina Jolie Pitt on her next feature film.

The 2016 Distinguished Service Award was presented to Edwina Pellikka for her dedication to the craft and art of design. Edwina has worked as a dyer, painter, and ager for every major studio since 1983. The award was presented to Pellikka by Salvador Perez, President of the Costume Designers Guild Local 892.

Additional presenters included Mindy Kaling, Kate Beckinsale, Emily Ratajkowski, Krysten Ritter, Kiernan Shipka, Constance Zimmer, Lamorne Morris, Jaime Camil, and Adam Rodriguez.


Excellence in Contemporary Film
Beasts of No Nation – Jenny Eagan

Excellence in Period Film
The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
American Horror Story: Hotel – Lou Eyrich

Outstanding Period Television Series
The Knick – Ellen Mirojnick

Outstanding Fantasy Television Series
Game of Thrones – Michele Clapton

Excellence in Short Form Design
Most Interesting Man in the World Wins on Land, Sea & Air, Dos Equis Commercial – Julie Vogel

Find the CDGA on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram and use #CDGA18.


User ID


I forgot my user id/password